Jerry Potterfield addresses City Council with concerns about the City after researching the City’s budget and spending.

The qualified voters in the City of Monroe City will be electing officials on Tuesday, April 7. The election includes the position of Mayor for a two-year term. Mayor John Long had signed up to run for re-election, but was not alone in the running race. Jerry Potterfield has filed to run for the two-year mayor term as well, stating, “I think the City needs to be set in a new direction.”

Others running are Anthony Zeiger for Fire Board. The Monroe City Rural Fire Protection District currently has two 6-year term open for election.

Signed up to run for the Alderman position in Ward I is Jeff Botkins, Ward II has three candidates including Ronald Krigbaum, Terry Tesson and Rusty Rothweiler and Alderman Melissa Hays will be running for re-election for Ward III.

Candidates had to file their declaration of candidacy by January 21, at 5 p.m.